Nibbles! CHOCOLATE SQUARED

IMG_7328 copy

Hey y’all!

I’m definitely not Southern. I don’t even think I’ve been to the South (besides a family trip to Florida and another to Texas). So I’m not quite sure why I used “y’all”. But hey, apparently modern English is the only Indo-European language with just one form of the word “you”, so maybe we need an informal version!

In any case, it’s Connie (just in case you couldn’t tell it wasn’t Max by the excessive babbling), and this is my very first post on this blog! I’m currently typing this with very red-stained (not blood, don’t worry) hands from Max’s beets earlier.

This past Tuesday, it was one of my good friend (and current roommate)’s birthdays, and so Monday night I whipped up some chocolate cupcakes to surprise her (quick shout-out to Mama-I-Am! Love you girl <3). With little over an hour before midnight, I decided to give it my best shot and make everything from scratch.

Recipes used:

  • Chocolate Cupcake Recipe – The Ultimate Chocolate Cupcake Test Baked by 50 Bakers and Counting, found at Cupcake Project here
  • My Favorite Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe, also found at Cupcake Project here

Notes:

  • I opted not to add coffee in my cupcakes, mostly because I don’t have a coffee maker or really access to one as far as I know of. Also, I’m not such a fan of instant coffee, nor do I own any.
  • I used Nestle dark chocolate chips for my chocolate, and Hersheys Cocoa Powder for that choice (for the frosting as well).
  • I was unable to find cupcake liners, so I used nonstick cooking spray on my nonstick cupcake pan, and everything turned out alright, though I do wish I had the cupcake liners for aesthetics’ sake.
  • I used slightly less powdered sugar than was called for (approx. 2.5 cups), and because I had none in my room, I used my handy dandy Magic Bullet to grind up regular granulated sugar. It kind of worked, though my frosting is probably slightly grainier than it should be.

Comments:

This is the lightest cupcake batter I have ever seen. Perhaps it’s because of the sour cream, or the not-very-much flour, but the batter before it’s poured actually feels extremely light and airy, which I found very interesting and quite pleasant. I somehow made 20 cupcakes from this 16 cupcake recipe, but it’s now been 2 full days, and I have just 2 left, with very few people involved in the eating process. I can only conclude that they were good. This is most definitely a recipe I’ll make again.

Also, I am most definitely not a frosting person (generally I scrape the frosting off of my cakes because I find it a bit too teeth-hurtingly sweet), but I really enjoy this frosting. That’s also probably a good thing, considering I probably have almost 2 cups left of it… the one thing it does mean is MORE CUPCAKES HOORAY. My waistline is crying a miserable pitiful plaintive cry.

IMG_7325

Unfortunately I have no pictures from the day of the birthday when the cupcakes were actually (nearly) beautiful, but I gave Max one today to eat for dessert! Since the frosting came directly out of the fridge, it pretty much refused to spread, resulting in the rather less attractive lump-smear in this photo. Lesson learned: frosting should be room temperature before applying. Max chose to decorate it with the 4 pomegranate seeds you see.

Overall? I’d consider this recipe trial a pretty resounding success. I managed to finish before midnight and trick roommate into thinking they weren’t for her, only to surprise her at the front door with a plateful (and the lovely Mama Son, another roommate/friend). The recipe was super fun and really straightforward, and definitely one pretty much anyone could do. There are delicious cupcakes in my room (though not for long, I have a feeling), a container of yummy frosting in the fridge, and happy tummies all around.

Leave a Reply

